Coastal Diaries. Day 2.

Day 2.
12-January
From Kovallam to Kanyakumari.
Last night, I can’t say I slept well but I woke up fresh. Is it the zest or the Kerala weather can’t say but felt great when we started.  We had breakfast at our hotel under the shades of coconut groves. I had little bit of idli chutney as I needed to taste it cus I like different types of chutneys and then I keep on experimenting at my place. After we left, halfway Vidula asked me to drive, mentally I was not prepared yet I agreed. I’ve tried my hand on several cars but never got a chance to drive Scorpion. Thus, it turned out to be a great decision as I enjoyed the drive. Drove almost 50-60kms we reached by 1:00 p.m. at Kanyakumari.

image

Went directly to our hotel ‘Sivamurrgan‘ thanks to ShivKumar Arumugam one of my twitter friend who supported us with sponsorship throughout Tamilnadu. Then we had Sapada for lunch at nearby restaurant.
We’re definitely in the mood of sightseeing while Vidula and Vanita planned to take rest. So we departed.
We took a ferry from the coast and went to the Vivekanand Memorial. That was a spectacular place to visit. It has one temple, one meditation hall and one large hall with a king size Vivekanand swami’s statue. And the sweet coincidence was today is Vivekanand jee’s Smruti din (Birthday). Then the same ferry took us to towards the statue of the Tamil Poet and philosopher Thiruvalluvar. The statue is a 133 feet (40.6 m) tall stone sculpture. Both the places are located at an island near Kanyakumari on the southernmost Coromandel Coast, where two seas and an ocean meet; the Bay of Bengal, the Arabian Sea, and the Indian Ocean. This makes that place looks so picturesque. Even the ferry ride was quite delightful. Everytime you enter you’ve to carry a life-jacket even though you won’t be wearing it later during the ride. There was a group of Rajasthani people, ladies wearing beautiful Ghagras and authentic Ghunghats and men were all protective type. They were adamant that all of them should tie the life-jacket so after trying for a while they asked one foreigner lady to assist and that lady was so generous she started helping each one of them with the buckling the jacket. And by the time the last person was buckled tightly the ferry reached its destination and everyone started laughing. That was really cute.
image
The statue of Thiruvalluvar was like an Indian version of Statue of liberty.
We walked two-three storeys and reached near the feet of that statue. It was almost the closing time so the security was asking people to hurry up.
We came back to the town and at a local shop had this sweet bonda I’d coffee and went towards Kanyakumari temple. On the way Prerna bought one mund (lungi) for her and I bought one for my hubby. Later Vidula and Vanita joined us and we went to this typical dhabha type food joint. Their these girls had ‘Beef fry’ with ‘Parotha’ and some ‘Chicken curry’. Whereas, I had Dosa and chutney.

image

4 thoughts on “Coastal Diaries. Day 2.

  1. Wow, this narration is so realistic that it makes me feel that I have just now – now means now- saw the Vivekananda Rock Temple, had Iddlis, dosa & their special chutneys. It takes boundless energy , first to drive so many kilometeres and then walk up the steps to watch the Thiruvalluvar Statue and then go back to the place of stay. Stamina Ma’am. And before I forget to mention your picture in the driving seat is fabulously fantastic. Post it as your twitter handle and let the world see it. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

